Alice S.

Education

New York University, B.A, Individualized Study – Politics, Human Rights, Creative Writing

Childcare Experience

After-school Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 04/13 - Present
Twin boys, age 4
Part-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 03/13
Boy, age 4
Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 08/06 - Present
Two girls, ages 8-14 and 4-10
Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/02 - 06/10
Three girls, age 11-18, 10-18, 4-12
Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 06/03 - 08/06
Girl, age 6 months - 3 years; boy, newborn - age 18 months

Professional Experience

Program Assistant
New York, NY , 10/08 - Present
Education Coordinator
Brooklyn, NY, 04/10 - 08/12
Garden Educator
Brooklyn, NY, 10/12 - Present
Assistant Manager and Buyer
New York, NY, 10/02 - 06/06

About Me

I have over ten years’ experience working as a nanny in New York City. I have worked with children of all ages, newborn through high school, primarily on the Upper East Side. I have traveled domestically and internationally with families and acted as a tutor, primarily in English and History, on numerous occasions. I am an artist working on my first illustrated children’s book. As an organic gardener and chef, preparing healthy, delicious, environmentally sustainable foods is one of my passions. I love all animals, and have a special fondness for cats.

I value the social and developmental skills that children develop as they begin to play – for example, learning to compromise in a game of make-believe when everyone wants to be the princess. I believe it is developmentally important for children to interact with other kids their age. To that end, when I play with children, I engage completely, not only because it is more fun, but also because play has purpose. I love arts and crafts and will happily engage in projects; I’m a novice sewer and builder. I love gardening and anything related to the outdoors and animals (though I am quite afraid of snakes). I have been told my entire life that I am a very loving and nurturing person – a trait I work to continuously develop through my work with children and through volunteer work.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working as a part-time garden & culinary educator and baker.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working as a farmer-teacher-children's-book-writer, if such a thing exists!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Great artist, excellent baker, vegetarian chef, I love to read, I love to play. I love being outside!