Brittany B.

Education

University of Southern California, B.A., International Relations

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/13 - Present
Boy, age 3

Professional Experience

Scholarship Program Founder
Natitingou, Benin, 08/12 - Present
Peace Corps Education Volunteer
Natitingou, Benin, 07/10 - 08/12
International Trade Paralegal
Washington, DC, 06/08 - 03/10
Tutor, Grades 2-10
Beverly Hills, CA, 08/05 - 05/08

About Me

Since graduating, I have pursued work either legal or international in nature but I’ve always found a way to work with children. When I was in high school, I worked as a babysitter and camp counselor and then shifted to tutoring children in grades K-10 while I was in college. Also, I taught interactive seminars on international affairs-related topics and French at public Los Angeles high schools. The girls in the program are amazing and their determination and energy inspire me every day to continue improving the program for them.

I like to engage in many hobbies, mainly cooking, dancing, and singing. I’ve been an avid cook and am always willing to take a creative and healthy approach to cooking. Being from Southern California, I love to cook with fresh produce from farmers markets. I danced and sang in a competitive show choir all throughout high school and I have panache for the theatrical. I have advanced skills in French and can tutor or offer enriching lessons if desired. I also am comfortable with most sports and played volleyball in high school and college.

When working with children, I feel like the most important thing is to be a role model and a friend. In this position, I am structured, but also fun and high energy. I love helping children grow and feel comfortable with whom they are. It is certainly a rewarding experience.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on the girls’ scholarship program I created during Peace Corps service.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finishing with my Masters in Public Policy/JD degree.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Advanced French, volleyball and softball, creative cooking