Ellen S.

Education

University of Iowa, MFA

University of Iowa,
MA

UW Madison, BFA

Childcare Experience

Substitute Teacher at One River School
Englewood, New Jersey, 03/14
Children, ages 5-16

Professional Experience

Visiting Faculty
Madison, WI, 08/12 - 05/13

Adjunct Instructor
Iowa City, IA, 08/09 - 05/12

Co-Manager and Instructor at Kennedy Swim School
Iowa City, IA,05/11 - 08/12

About Me

I have spent the last 4 years teaching art. Three of those years were at the University of Iowa and one year was at UW Madison. My specialty areas are drawing, painting, and I have also ran some fun workshops on how to make a book (students have loved this in the past). Although I often spent time teaching 18 year-olds, I took time to run community art workshops for younger children and also for children who were living in juvenile homes in rural Iowa. I also taught swimming lessons for a few years, which gave me more experience developing my knowledge on how to teach and structure activities for younger age groups.

As for my teaching philosophy, I believe that the importance of arts education cannot be overstated. It is proven that when children, or when people at any age, tap into their creativity it proceeds to improve their critical thinking skills and builds self-confidence. These creative skills will help them both socially and academically, no matter the path in life.

I am also interested in cooking, reading and staying active physically (running and playing volleyball). I also adore animals of all kinds!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on my career as a painter.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Still painting and living peaceful life with my dog and cat.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I have taught art for 4 years, so I love to share all kinds of creative activities with children. I also love to cook, play sports, and read books with/to children. I can engage in conversational Spanish.