Gina M.

Education

CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College, currently attending

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/13 - 05/14
Boy, age 8; girl, age 4

Professional Experience

Teacher's Assistant
New York, NY, 09/11 - 06/13
Children, ages 5-7

After-school teacher
New York, NY, 10/10 - 06/12
Boys, ages 7-10; girls, ages 6-10

AmeriCorps Teacher
New York, NY, 08/10 - 06/11
Children, ages 5-10

About Me

After high school, I volunteered with a non profit organization that gave me my first official experience working with children. Since then, even when I’ve started thinking about other career options somehow I find myself drawn back to working with kids. My philosophy is centered around watching their development and providing an atmosphere where they can grow and learn emotionally and socially. All of my positions, in some way, have allowed me to do just that. I thoroughly enjoyed working in the classroom both as a conflict resolution instructor and a teacher’s assistant. Even in my few positions as a babysitter, I’ve always encouraged children to express themselves in ways in which they felt comfortable.

I love children because I feel that I can learn just as much from them as they do from us adults. I am passionate about positive change and our youth is the key to that. Spending time with my family is essential. However, when I’m not with them, I am usually engulfed in a good read or catching up with long time friends. Trying new things is always exciting to me and I try to do so as often as I can. Finishing my education is currently my number one goal. It is the one thing I do for myself that will someday allow me to do for others.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending college part-time working towards my undergraduate degree.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Graduating with my bachelors degree and continuing on towards my PhD.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I have been told that I definitely have skills in the kitchen and I love trying new, simple, and healthy recipes with kids. I am a huge fan of baseball and the Yankees can do no wrong. I enjoy any craft that allows us to use our hands and most importantly our imaginations. I speak Spanish semi-fluently and take great pleasure in being able to share my culture with others. I grew up in a home filled with music and dancing. It's a great way to get the wiggles out and the best way to let the music in.