Lucy K.

Education

University of Michigan
International Studies and Spanish

Childcare Experience

YMCA Camp Al-Gon-Quian
Burt Lake, MI, June 2009-August 2012
Boys and Girls, ages 7-13

After-School Babysitter
Ann Arbor, MI 2006-2010
Boy, age 3-7/Boy, age 5-9/Girl, age 7-11

Professional Experience

Intern, All Out
New York, NY, June 2014 - Present

Lifeguard
Ann Arbor, MI
December 2013 - June 2014

Administrative Assistant
Ann Arbor, MI
January 2010 - June 2014

Production Intern
Ann Arbor, MI
January - April 2011

About Me

I am an energetic, goofy and creative girl who recently graduated from the University of Michigan. While I hope to one day professionally work with human rights related issues, working with kids is another one of my great passions. While I have been babysitting since I was a young teenager and tutoring in elementary classrooms throughout my high school years, my favorite memories working with kids come from my time at the YMCA’s Camp Al Gon Quian. In fact, these are some of my favorite memories all together! Whether I was making up a new, cool secret handshake among my cabin of campers, drawing a giant chalk mural on the tennis courts with my arts and crafts class, or running around playing soccer with a pack of some of the wildest, youngest kids on camp, I always found myself with a constant smile and full of energy. These days, I find myself thinking about my times at camp more than ever and cannot wait to start sharing fun, enriching experiences with new groups of kids and families.

When working with kids, I think it is important to be positive, energetic, creative, compassionate and consistent. I work very hard to make sure I always embody these traits, and push myself to constantly improve!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

I continue to pursue a career working with non-profit organizations.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working for a non-profit that does international human rights advocacy work.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am very passionate about the Spanish language and music. I have some experience playing the piano and would love to help a child who is learning the instrument practice their skills. I also am very active and enjoy pretty much every sport and physical activity. During my time working at Camp Al Gon Quian, I led arts and crafts classes so I have a lot of fun projects that I love to work on with kids!