Amalia S.

Education

Columbia University, Columbia College, B.A. in American Studies and Art HIstory

Childcare Experience

Museum Educator
New York, NY, 12/13 - Present
Children, ages 4-13

Museum Educator
New York, NY, 06/11 - 08/11
Children, ages 6-13

Occasional Babysitter / Tutor
New York, NY, 09/10 - 12/12
Girl, age 12-14

Professional Experience

Historic Landmarks Preservation Center, Research Assistant
New York, NY, 04/14 - Present

Skyscraper Museum, Education and Project Assistant
New York, NY, 12/13 - Present

American Folk Art Museum, Exhibition Catalog Research Assistant
New York, NY, 01/12 - 06/12

American Folk Art Museum
New York, NY, 06/11 - 08/11

Education Intern, Ugly Duckling Presse
Brooklyn, NY, 05/11 - 08/11

About Me

I have been working in museum education and research intermittently since my junior year in college, and while I love working in museum research departments, I have come to realize that the time I spend with children is the most intellectually and emotionally productive component of my work. Having familiarized myself with gallery pedagogies, particularly object-oriented inquiry, has helped me to become a more critical and engaged thinker, and to feel more able to fulfill my own needs as well as the needs of individuals with whom I work personally and professionally.

I have always appreciated the time I spend with children as a mutually beneficial opportunity for both the child and myself to learn from one another. I am grateful for my work with children at the Skyscraper Museum as well as the American Folk Art Museum because I find that working with children consistently helps me to become a more resilient, resourceful, and engaged person. The capacity to think quickly and attentively that one must develop in order to work with children has helped me to improve my own creative work in poetry and essay-writing. At this time in my life, I simply want to begin spending more of my work day with children, since I recognize this as the most constructive and enjoyable part of my professional life.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Writing poetry and essays with an eye towards publishing with small presses and journals. I am also working as a freelance research assistant.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working on my poetry and any other intellectual projects that suit me.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I enjoy working with children in language and visual arts-oriented subjects. I have tutored children in the French and English languages, and I have worked in museum education on and off since 2011. I sew, make puppets, and love to craft with children.