Eli P.

Education

Rutgers University, B.F.A., Acting

Childcare Experience

Therapeutic Recreation Assistant
Rockford, IL, 05/12 - 08/12
Boys and girls, ages 5-13
Assistant Practitioner for Children with Disabilities
London, UK, 01/12 - 03/12
Boys and girls, ages 17-19
Instructor / Assistant Camp Director
Interlochen, MI, 06/11-08/11
Boys and girls, ages 12-16

Professional Experience

Waitress/ Hostess
Winnebago, IL, 04/12 - 08/12

About Me

I love working with children because of their unselfconscious nature and innate will to do good. Having a reputation for being goofy and dorky, it’s always comforting to find companions who are able to meet me on that level.

I come from a small rural midwestern farm town where my first experiences with childcare were babysitting for families around the neighborhood. Having been immersed in the arts from a very young age, specifically theater and music, I bring a high level of creativity, imagination, and playfulness to my work with children. I started working with children mainly in the realm of theatre. I have worked in multiple children’s theater camps, leading group exercises and games as well as coaching pieces and scenes. I sing and play ukelele. Having studied voice since I was eleven, music is incredibly important to me. I love singing with children and helping them find their own voices and confidence through singing and writing their own music.

I have also spent a lot of time working with children with disabilities. I love this work. Having a severe hearing impairment myself, I find that I can deeply and personally connect to some of the struggles these children face. I worked extensively in inclusion services which means that we worked to enable these children to be in settings not geared towards them and to succeed. Those remain some of my favorite memories in my childcare experience, watching a child struggle, overcome, and grow. I remember watching, with such pride, one of my dearest children I’ve worked with, one with severe autism, master a new sign enabling him to tell me when he was thirsty. This was such a huge milestone for him and one full of such struggle to reach. I found these children to have especially big hearts which deeply affected and touched me; motivating me to bring my 110% at all times for them.

I come from an academically rigorous family. Education was the number one priority to my parents and I carry that value with me. I attended a challenging college prep school before I left for boarding school at the age of 16. There I studied Latin, French, and took many AP classes. I then attended an arts academy in Michigan as an acting major. This environment could not have been more of a contrast to my intensely academic home. It was a world of idealism, passion, music: free unadulterated self expression. From drum circles on the beach and howling at the moon, to watching the jazz band improvise while the dancers danced while the painters painted the whole experience– I felt so stimulated and I experienced entirely new things. I think my meshing of these two worlds, both academic and artistic, makes for a unique ability to speak the “languages” of many different worlds, enabling me to communicate with children in the way they need.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with disabilities

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning for roles in film and television.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Financially comfortable in New York City, enjoying a strong network of people and jobs. Working in commercials, film, and television regularly while enjoying a job that fulfills me in a different way-- either being a certified ASL interpreter, or working with children with disabilities, perhaps teaching them acting. I see myself always being involved in some way with children, whether they are interested in acting, or underprivileged / disabled. It will always be an important part of my life.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Basic CPI training, AED certified, basic food handling training, extensive training for children with disabilities (autism spectrum, ADHD, behavioral / emotional disorders, deaf, cerebral palsy, down syndrome). Basic french, Basic ASL, dancing, acting.