Nikara W.

Education

Berklee College of Music, B.M., Music Business and Management

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/12 - Present
Girl, age 4-5; boy, age 2
Part-time / Occasional Nanny
Long Island, NY, 09/10 - Present
Boy, age 6 months-2 years
Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 11/05 - Present
Girl, age 5-12
Occasional Babysitter
Farmingdale, NY, 12/10 - Present
Boy, age 2-4
Afternoon Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 06/08 - 09/08
Two boys, ages 7 and 9

Professional Experience

Piano Teacher
Brooklyn, NY, 06/07 - Present
Copyright Coordinator
New York, NY, 06/10 - 12/11
Strategic Marketing Intern
New York, NY, 01/10 - 05/10
Camp Counselor/Teacher
Brooklyn, NY, 05/08 - 08/08

About Me

During my childhood, I had the same babysitter for 7 years. As the years passed, I began to realize that I could have the same positive effect on a child that my babysitter had on me. Children often tend to find me entertaining because of my outgoing personality, ability to listen, and my appreciation for a child’s imagination.

After graduating college, I moved back to NYC to work as a copyright coordinator at a major record label. After realizing that I just wasn’t an office person, I knew that I wanted to work with children again.

I could not live without following my passions. I began playing more music in the city while babysitting and teaching more as well. I figured, what better way prepare myself for teaching music than to spend some years babysitting and playing music? Music runs in my family and has always surrounded me because my grandfather is jazz pianist and legend, Kenny Barron.

My other hobbies include film, photography, arts and crafts, and most sports. I love cooking good, healthy food, and being outdoors. I hope that I can be the one to provide your children with fun learning opportunities, discipline, and stability.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working as a musician, with hopes of teaching music to young children one day.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Playing and teaching music.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Some Spanish, music, creative writing and play doh sculpting, music theory