Theresa D.

Education

Macaulay Honors College at Brooklyn College, B.F.A., Creative Writing

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/12 - Present
Girl, age 10; boy, age 11
After-school and Summer Babysitter
Dunellen, NJ, 07/07 - 08/08
Two girls, ages 11-12, and 6-7

Professional Experience

Sales Associate / Data Entrant
Brooklyn, NY, 09/08 - 05/12
Intern / Teacher's Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 09/10 - 06/11
ESL Instructor
Brooklyn, NY, 01/10 - 04/10

About Me

Children are my passion and I am so excited to find a wonderful family with whom I can share my enthusiasm and talents with while providing reliability and support within a long-term relationship. Originally from Pennsylvania, I moved to New York at the age of eighteen when I was offered a full scholarship through the Macaulay Honors College at Brooklyn College. I spent the next four years studying, writing short stories and poetry, and generally having a blast exploring everything New York City has to offer. One of my formative college experiences was through an internship as a teacher’s assistant in a freshman seminar class called “The Arts in NYC.” We wrote poetry, saw “Das Rheingold” at the opera, visited exhibits at the Guggenheim and the Brooklyn Museums, and partook in countless other cultural events. These experiences coupled with imaginative project planning and class discussions led me to the realization that teaching was my passion and I’ve decided to eventually pursue a master’s in education. Currently, I want to spend my time inspiring and being inspired by the wonderful children of NYC.

Some of my hobbies include: reading (I’m a total bookworm), writing (recently I have been on a teen fiction kick), spontaneous craft projects, playing basketball, swimming, riding my bike, and having adventures in NYC. I am also an excellent homework helper and tutor (especially in English).

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Taking some time off en route to getting my master’s to pursue my foremost passion – working with children!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Teaching, or getting my Master's on the way to teaching.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Tutoring, coaching, and teaching experience, especially in English related subjects. Flute, music reading, basketball.