Jenna P.

Education

New York University, M.M in Vocal Performance for Musical Theatre

University of Virginia, M.T. Elementary Education; certified Secondary Education in History

University of Virginia, B.A History, Minor in French

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/13 - Present
Girl age 14, boy age 12

After-School / Weekend Babysitter
Charlottesville, VA, 08/06 - 05/10
Girl age 2-6, boy 4-8, boy 6-10

After-School / Weekend Babysitter
Charlottesville, VA, 08/09 - 06/13
Girl age 3-4, boy age 6-7, boy age 9-10

Theatre Workshop Camp Counselor / Seminar Instructor
Philadelphia, PA, 06/13 - 07/13
Children, ages 11-17

Music Teacher
Brooklyn, NY, 12/12 - Present
Children, ages 4-16

America Reads and Counts Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 09/10 - 06/11
Children, ages 9-10

Professional Experience

Vocal Coach/Teacher
New York, NY, 07/13 - Present

NYU Adjunct Voice Faculty
New York, NY, 09/11 - 05/13

4th Grade Teaching Associate
Charlottesville, VA, 08/09 - 12/09

K-6 Substitute Teacher
Charlottesville, VA, 08/09 - 05/09

Enrichment Instructor / Tutor-Mentor
Chapel Hill, NC, 06/09 - 08/09

About Me

I am thrilled to be a part of SmartSitting! I have been living in NYC, specifically Cobble Hill and Park Slope in Brooklyn, for the past three and a half years. I absolutely love this city and couldn’t imagine myself anywhere else. I am originally from a small town called Swarthmore, just outside of Philadelphia. I went to college at the beautiful and historic University of Virginia, where I studied History, French, and got my Masters in Elementary Education. I recently received my second Masters in Vocal Performance at NYU’s Steinhardt School.

In terms of working with children, I have a variety of experiences that have shaped me into the sitter I am today. My time at the University of Virginia’s Curry School of Education (a top 5 program in the US) allowed me ample opportunity to work with kids of all ages inside the classroom and after school. While attending UVA, I also had the opportunities to spend a summer teaching at a gifted summer camp, tutor-mentoring at a program for low-income, underrepresented, and first-generation college bound high schoolers, and four years part-time nannying for a family with two elementary aged boys and a girl toddler.

In New York, I spent a year working in a 4th grade class room in Brooklyn as part of America Reads and Counts and have spent the past two and a half years teaching music and voice to students ranging in age from four to sixty five both privately and as adjunct faculty at NYU.

I like to treat children as mini adults. I have high expectations for behavior and for getting things (like homework) done, but I also keep everything lighthearted and fun. I hope that children feel like they can confide in me and open up about their feelings, just as they would to a parent, so I establish a comfortable and safe routine and environment from the start. And if we happen to have a sporadic dance party from time to time, that’s okay too!

Besides working with children (and adults!), I enjoy living an active lifestyle in NYC. I like to run, take spin and yoga classes, attend cooking classes to learn healthy and quick techniques, try my hand at a variety of baked goods recipes, walk around and explore the many different neighborhoods in NYC, see as many Broadway and Off-Broadway shows as I can, learn as much as possible about everything I’m interested in by taking classes (Thomas Jefferson did say that one can never be considered a senior in his or her education), and spend time with my family and friends.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing a performance career! I audition all the time for everything from musical theatre to commercials, voice over, TV/film, and straight plays. I am also a certified voice teacher, and I absolutely love teaching people how to sing.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Starring in a Broadway show!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak conversational French, love to make baked goods, like to make good healthy meals, enjoy attending baseball, basketball and football games, enjoy swimming, running, doing yoga, cycling, and lots of other fitness trends, love attending museums, theatre, art, enjoy reading (aloud with voices, of course!) children and young adult literature, and basic arts and crafts.