Kathryn S.

Education

University of North Carolina School of the Arts, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting

Childcare Experience

After-school Nanny
Arlington, VA, 08/13 - 05/14
Boy, age 7-8

Full-time Nanny
Arlington, VA, 05/13 - 08/13
Girl, age 3-4

After-school Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 08/12 - 12/12
Girl, age 6-7

Before-school Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 08/12 - 12/12
Girl, age 9, Boy, age 5

After-school Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 08/12 - 12/12
Girl, age 9

Professional Experience

Theatre Camp Counselor
San Antonio, TX, 06/07 - 08/11
Boys and Girls, ages 4-18

Actress
Texas, New York, D.C., 06/10 - 04/13

Front Desk at Baggage Storage Company
New York, NY, 07/11 - 01/12

Caterer
New York, NY, 06/11 - 12/12

Waitress / Hostess
San Antonio, TX, 05/05 - 08/06

About Me

After graduating from art school, I immediately moved to New York City to pursue my acting career. My background in the arts has made my transition into child care a smooth and exciting one. Initially, I started as a theatre camp counselor which was a complete joy. After teaching at camp, I became a nanny, and have been one professionally for about 3 years.

When I grew up, I often felt ignored by babysitters and camp counselors. So, one of my main priorities as a care giver is to give each child my full attention, and every ounce of my energy. I take my role in their life very seriously. I love developing unique and personal connections with each kid. One of the girls I looked after ended up being my flower girl in my wedding this past October. I still keep in touch with the kids that I no longer look after, which I feel is very important. My goal is to make every child feel smart, confident, and to enjoy themselves. I love working on building their self esteem and excitement for life. I play the ukulele, and guitar and sing. Also, I am big into arts and crafts. I use all these tools when I am with the kids to ensure they have a fun filled time.

Something else I would like to share, my cousin has 4p Wolf Hirschhorn Syndrome. I have a very close relationship with him and have helped look after him my whole life. He cannot talk, walk, or eat for himself. I am sharing this, so you know that I am completely comfortable looking after children with disabilities.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning for roles in theatre productions and film and television. I am happy and able to work with a family's schedule and I have done this in the past.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Starring in a Broadway show, and maybe starting to think about having kids of my own with my lovely husband.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Arts and crafts, guitar, ukulele, singing, basketball, volleyball, soccer, bowling, swimming, baking cookies and cakes, and anything that has to do with acting or performing.