Michelle O.

Education

Oklahoma City University, Master of Science

Oklahoma City University, Bachelor of Performing Arts

Point Park University

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Astoria, NY, 05/13 - Present
Boy, age 1-2

Babysitter
Garrison, NY, 02/12 - Present
Three boys, ages 5-6, 2-3, 9 months-2 years

Babysitter
Oklahoma City, OK, 05/08 - 12/11
Two girls, ages 5-8 and 7-10

Babysitter
Versailles, KY, 12/07 - Present
Girls, 1 month - 6

Babysitter
Oklahoma City, OK, 2008-2010
Two boys, ages 7-10

Professional Experience

Dance Teacher
New Jersey, 03/12 - Present

Performer / Dancer
Miami, FL, 10/12 - 09/13

Personal Trainer
Astoria, NY 02/12- 10/12

Manager
Oklahoma City, 08/09 - 05/11

About Me

Since finishing graduate school, my husband and I have been enjoying working and living in NYC. I have been pursuing my dreams of dancing on the ‘Great White Way’ and working in the fitness industry as a Personal Trainer and Dance Instructor. I enjoy all types of dance however specialize in Tap, Jazz, Ballet and Musical Theater myself. I have a great respect for classical Broadway and love the styling of artists like Gene Kelly, Fred Astaire, and Randy Skinner. In addition, I have worked with several families over the past eight years providing childcare to children ages ranging from newborns to preteens. I am the youngest of three and originally find roots in the Blue Grass state, Kentucky. As a dancer and trainer I am dedicated to a healthy and active lifestyle.

My goal when working with children is always to provide a stimulated environment for fun and learning, yet structured and safe. It is important for me to be an extension of the parenting style, so the parents have serenity and happiness while away from their homes. I enjoying interactivities with the children such as crafts, building, sing-a-longs, playing outdoors, board games and games of make believe. As a former tutor, I love working with older children with homework help and believe I have the patience and understanding to be an effective teacher or tutor. You may often find me reading with your child or to them as I find the written word one of the most addictive and elements. I am a recent volunteer with Children of Promise based in Brooklyn providing tutoring, sports, arts, mentoring and after school care for children. In my free time I enjoy running in great outdoors, trying new restaurants with my husband, going to shows, exploring the city, practicing photography, reading, working out or falling in love with the city.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning and taking classes to fulfill my dreams of dancing on Broadway.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Wrapping up a performing career and making the transition into using my master's degree to teach at a collegiate level or work in a facet of the exercise health industry professionally. I also hope to be beginning a young family of our own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

English, cooking, crafts, homework help, nutrition, board games, and dancing.