Denise M.

Education

State University of New York at New Paltz, B.A. Communication and Media; Creative Writing

Savannah College of Art and Design, one year of Foundational Studies

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Chicago, IL and Mendham, NJ, 06/11 - 08/13 and 06/13 - 10/13
Two girls, ages 4-6 and 1.5-3

Nanny
Chicago, IL, 09/12 - 06/13
Two boys, age 3; girl, age 5

Babysitter
Chicago, IL, 12/12 - 06/13
Two girls, ages 5 and 1.5; boy, age 3

Babysitter
Chicago, IL, 12/12 - 06/13
Girl, age 6 months

Nanny
Chicago, IL, 06/11 - 03/12
Girl, age 8 weeks

Weekend and Travel Nanny
Stone Ridge and NYC, NY, 06/06 - 06/09; Current
Girl; 5-12; two boys, ages 3-10 and newborn-6

Professional Experience

Administrative Assistant
Chicago, IL, 07/10 - 05/11

AmeriCorps Volunteer / College Coach
Austin, TX, 08/09 - 06/10

Receptionist
Woodstock, NY, 06/06 - 01/08

Assistant
New Paltz, NY, 07/04 - 08/05

Associate
New Paltz, NY, 07/01-01/05

About Me

As the oldest of four children, I have always been a natural, energetic caregiver. Working as a nanny throughout college was the perfect choice for me, providing flexibility and fun. After graduation, I continued working with youth, volunteering with AmeriCorps, teaching an after-school college-access program for low-income, first-generation students. As an adult who overcame childhood adversity, youth outreach and education is a cause I feel personally connected to, and I am proud of this experience and my student’s continued success.

Now, having worked as a private nanny for the last three years, I can honestly say it is the most fun, laughter-inducing, and rewarding profession. I get to make kids feel special everyday, whether it is by helping them pursue their greatest strengths or learn something new, and I am constantly reminded of what is truly important. As a nanny, I enjoy engaging children in my own artistic and creative interests, which include storytelling and sewing. This summer, after teaching one of the girls I care for to sew by hand, she crafted a pocket-sized, heart-shaped pillow, or “lovey,” that her mother continues to carry in her purse everyday. When I am not working, I enjoy reading, rock-climbing, learning French, or dining with friends. Having just relocated back to New York after three years in Chicago, I am looking forward to pursuing new interests.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Learning how to design my own fabrics!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Opening a small craft and sewing studio for children and teens, that offers classes, events, and delightful fabrics.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Reading, writing, arts and crafts, baking, bike-riding, swimming.