Jillian K.

Education

Oberlin College, Visual Arts and Japanese History

Childcare Experience

America Reads Tutor
Oberlin, OH, 11/11 - 08/12
Kindergarten & 2nd grade

Arts and Crafts Assistant
Poyntelle, PA, Summer 2012
boys & girls ages 8-15

Babysitter
Roslyn, NY, 2001 - 2011
Twin girls age 5-13

Babysitter
Great Neck, NY, 2006 - 2007
Boy, age 11

Babysitter
Roslyn, NY, 2006 - 2007
Boy, age 6

Afterschool Assistant
Roslyn, NY, 2006-2007
Children, ages 5-8

Professional Experience

Jr. Electrical Designer and CAD Draftsperson
Manhattan, NY, 08/12 - Present

Auction Preview Assistance
Manhattan, NY, 12/13 - Present

BAKERI Cook
Brooklyn, NY, 11/13 - 02/14

Counterperson at DeCAFE
Oberlin, OH, 2008 - 2012

Graphic Designer
2007

About Me

Since graduating Oberlin College where I studied Fine Arts and Japanese history, I have been working as a 2D & 3D draftsperson at an engineering consulting firm. However, my dream is to become an art teacher.

Throughout my life, I have had a variety of venues and experiences with childcare. I have experience as a camp counselor, a babysitter, a tutor, a hospital volunteer, an after-school class aide. Two summers ago, I had the opportunity to be the assistant art director of a sleep-away camp where I brought the fine arts to the crafts room. Two of my favorite memories from that summer job was teaching rudimentary printing techniques with foam plates and getting the boys division of the camp to enjoy their time in the crafts room and even select arts and crafts as their elective activity.

When working with kids I like to promote a happy, safe and productive environment, where I can assist with the child’s own ideas, games, and projects. I love to have fun and definitely benefit from having a sense of humor and an immense amount of patience.

I love painting, sculpting, printing, drawing… essentially all methods of human expression. Aside from artistic endeavors I love to read, learn, watch movies, write, play sports, go on walks and I generally enjoy my life in New York City and all the cultural opportunities it has to offer.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing a Masters in teaching and working part-time at an engineering firm.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

An art teacher at a public or private school in New York City.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Cooking, collaging, crafting, art making, sports playing, reading and photography.