Matthew G.

Education

Bowling Green State University, B.A. Psychology

Childcare Experience

English Tutor
Mumbai, India, 07/09 - 08/09
Children, ages 4-7

Professional Experience

Crew Leader
Toledo, OH, 05/09 - 11/13

Server
Toledo, OH, 05/11-04/12

Line Cook
Toledo, OH, 08/11 - 04/12

Bag Room Attendant
Sylvania, OH, 04/08 - 09/08

About Me

Since my graduation from college, I have spent time working and traveling, looking to expand my appreciation of the world I have grown up in. Through my experience tutoring less fortunate children in India, I have seen the profound impact one adult can have on the outlook of a child. As well, I have learned that the human imagination knows no language and its power is boundless. With this knowledge, I enjoy focusing on a child’s creativity as the primary facility for learning. When working with children, I look to provide them with an environment where they feel safe in expressing themselves. I want to encourage structure along with an understanding that it is sometimes okay to color outside the lines.

From an early age, I was always fascinated by the meals my mother provided for our family. Not surprisingly, I am passionate about cooking and love the process of being in the kitchen. I also enjoy writing, playing guitar, and drawing. I find these activities to be calming and peaceful outlets for my creativity. Health, I believe, is comprised of many different facets and thus I love trying new things. I spend a lot of time outdoors and I am interested in gardening and horticulture. I am constantly growing as an adult, and know that each day is a chance to learn something new.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school-aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

I consider a career in marketing or advertising for a small business.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Well on my way to owning and operating my own business, such as a small cafe.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Cooking, sports of all kinds, drawing, creative writing, nature, gardening and horticulture. I also enjoy playing guitar and learning about animals.