Alexander A.

Education

Syracuse University, Bachelor of Music

Manhattan School of Music, Master of Music

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
Syracuse, NY / New York, NY, 09/10 - Present
Boy, age 9 months - 5 years

After-school Babysitter
Syracuse NY / New York, NY, 10/10 - Present
Boy, age 3-7

Camp Counselor
New Orleans, LA, 07/10
Children, grades K-6th

Piano Teacher / Classroom Assistant
New Orleans, LA, 01/08 - 05/08
Children, grades 1st-3rd

Professional Experience

Circulation Assistant, Peter Jay Sharp Library
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present

Barista
Syracuse, NY, 01/10 - 05/12

Sales Associate
Syracuse, NY, 09/10 - 12/10

Delivery
New Orleans, LA, 06/09 - 08/09

About Me

Most of my time spent, and my development as a person, has been through music and family. My parents were very involved in my education, a critical component I believe to success. I take this lesson into my experience with kids. Establishing a good rapport with every parent for insight is how I’m able to provide care on a very personal level. Most of my experience watching infants and toddlers comes from professors with whom I had a great relationship. One of my strengths is patience and sensitivity to a child’s pace of learning. Through the after school program at the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts, I have experience teaching children privately and in a group setting. My mother was a schoolteacher and is now an after-school private tutor, primarily in reading and math. Observing her work with special needs kids has been invaluable to me, in addition to my hands on experience.

Music is my passion, which has taught me discipline, self-expression, and how to work with and establish lasting relationships with other people. One of my favorite experiences with children was teaching a group of K-6 graders about all the different kinds of musical instruments through a summer camp run by a church in my hometown of New Orleans. The children’s excitement and engagement has left me with wonderful memories! I enjoy staying physically active, cooking, reading, and meals with my family.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working as freelance composer and songwriter.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A father and own a coffee shop with my wife.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love to read to and read with kids. And of course, music! I like to get out the house and go to parks. As long as safety is considered, I think kids should be involved with everything in the house (cooking, clean-up, etc.). I am also CPR certified.