Amanda P.

Education

University of New Mexico, B.A. Family Studies (Human development & Family Relations)

University of New Mexico,
M.A. Spanish

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
Albuquerque, NM, 03/09 - 11/13
Three girls, ages 4-8, 5-6 and 3 months-4 years; boy, age 3

Part-time Nanny
Albuquerque, NM, 08/08 - 07/10
Girl, age 2 months - 2 years

Part-time Nanny
Albuquerque, NM, 03/07 - 07/08
Boy, age 4-5; girl, age 2-3

Full-time Nanny
Washington, DC, 08/06 - 01/07
Two boys, age 2 and 2-7 months

Full-time Nanny
Oceanside, CA, 06/05 - 08/06
Boy, 16 months-2 years

Full-time Nanny
Albuquerque, NM, 09/02 - 04/04
Three boys, ages 7-9, 4-6, 3 months-2 years

Professional Experience

Preschool Spanish Instructor
Brooklyn, NY, 01/14 - Present

Musician/Educator
New Mexico, 10/09 - 11/13

Policy Analyst Intern
Mexico City, MX, 04/13 - 06/13

Driver's Education Instructor
Santa Fe, NM, 05/11 - 04/13

Spanish Instructor
Albuquerque, NM, 08/10 - 05/12

Research Assistant/Co-Author
UNM Albuquerque, NM, 08/09 - 02/10

About Me

I recently moved to NYC from Albuquerque, NM and I am currently working as a tutor. I am friendly, creative, nurturing and fun. I am also very patient, calm and an excellent listener and communicator; qualities cultivated during my 10+ years of professional childcare experience. While completing my bachelor’s degree, I interned for a non-profit youth advocacy coalition, working with teens in my community. I also began my first full-time nanny position, caring for a 3 month old baby and his two brothers. Since then I have worked with multiple families and have experience with diverse family structures and varied parenting styles.

I love working with and caring for children and I strive to create a safe, stimulating, and inspiring environment that encourages exploration and creativity, while recognizing the developmental needs of each child. I believe children learn best through hands-on activities and play, and my goal is to encourage their natural curiosity and foster a love of learning. Family collaboration and communication is important to me, and I enjoy creating strong working relationships with families.

Two of my passions are dance and music. I was a founding member of Mala Maña, an all-female voice and percussion ensemble dedicated to community building through music. We performed at community events, schools, public libraries and music festivals, and I loved teaching songs, hand percussion and basic drum rhythms to children. I have a minor in dance and performed with Alma Flamenca, a pre-professional flamenco dance company. As a graduate student I taught undergraduate Spanish courses and coordinated youth dance workshops for the Spanish department. I enjoy traveling, parks and museums, running, yoga and dance classes, live music, farmers’ markets, cooking healthy meals and reading and writing.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Writing, playing and performing music, dancing, and tutoring.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working with children and youth through education, advocacy and/or community building projects. I also hope to continue my life of music and dance, and perhaps publish some of my writing.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak Spanish and I love reading books, imaginative play, doing art & science projects, making/listening to music, dancing, playing games, outdoor activities, exploring museums, libraries and parks, and preparing healthy meals.