Amber G.

Education

Old Dominion University, B.A. Foreign Languages and Literature

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Jersey City, NJ, 06/14 - Present
Girl, age 3

Tutor
Chesapeake, VA, 04/12 - 07/13
Two boys, ages 14-15 and 15-16

Nanny
Virginia Beach, VA, 2008 - 2010
Girl, age 3-5; boy, age 7-9

Professional Experience

Shelter Advocate
Williamsburg, VA, 04/12 - 06/14

ODU Tutor
Norfolk, VA, 03/13-09/13

Home School Teacher
Virginia Beach, VA, 2010-2012

About Me

I am a college educated nanny/tutor with over 15 years of tutoring, childcare, and home schooling experience. I have a proven track record with kids of all ages, and extensive experience working with children with disabilities.

My B.A. is in Foreign Languages and Literature, so I have excellent written and verbal communication skills in both French and English, with conversational knowledge of Spanish and German. I’m very education-oriented and I try to incorporate kid-friendly learning whenever possible. I love reading, arts and crafts, music, dance, and games, and I think I’d be a great influence on any young mind.

Having worked several years at a domestic violence shelter, I’m also adept at crisis management and conflict resolution. I have reliable transportation, a flexible schedule, and plenty of positive references! I’m open to full time, part time, or occasional work with one or multiple children of any age. I love to cook, and I don’t mind light housekeeping or errands as necessary.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Taking a break between my B.A. and Masters, which I am planning to begin in August 2016.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working as a speech pathologist, helping children communicate and find their voice.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am fluent in French, conversational in Spanish and German. I also enjoy cooking, art and music.