Amy D.

Education

State University of New York at New Paltz, B.A, Geography

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
Kinderhook, NY, 01/11 - 01/13
Girl, age 3-5
Part-time and Live-in Nanny
Kingston, NY, 09/07 - 12/12
Girl, age 8-14
Full-time Nanny
Castleton, NY, 06/11 - 09/11
Boy, age 4; girl, age 2
Part-time Nanny
Kinderhook, NY, 03/08 - 03/12
Boy, age 2-6; girl infant-age 4

Professional Experience

Education and Outreach Intern
Kingstown, NY, 03/12 - 10/12

About Me

I am passionate about community service and working with children. Last year I spent seven months volunteering on the island of Saint Vincent where I taught and managed afterschool clubs and a summer camp. With the help of school staff, we started a school garden and incorporated science curriculum into the garden activities. I taught arts and crafts, sports and games, agriculture, and nutrition during the summer camp.

In addition to teaching, I have also worked as a babysitter for over eleven years. I am experienced with infants to age fourteen. I have helped with homework in all subjects from preschool to grade nine, taught piano and arts and crafts, and assisted an occupational therapist in child development activities. I enjoy playing games with children and outdoor activities. I have experience in light cooking and housekeeping.

The volunteer work I did with children abroad taught me about child development and my role as a caretaker and educator. I work with children with the attitude that all children have their own unique strengths and my job as a caretaker and educator is to provide constant encouragement and positive reinforcement.

My hobbies include gardening, outdoor activities, running, kayaking, and volunteer work. I speak Spanish conversationally and continue actively studying and speaking.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Enjoying all that NYC has to offer!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Obtaining a Masters in Education and continuing my work with children.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak Spanish conversationally, I play the piano and am experienced teaching piano and music.