Andrew S.

Education

University of New Hampshire, B.A. BA in Theater, Education and Acting

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
Omaha, NE, 05/13 - 08/13
Girl, age 4; Three boys, age 7, 9, 11

Babysitter
Omaha, NE, 01/12 - Present
Twin boys; girl, aged 7

Babysitter
Omaha, NE, 03/13 - Present
Boy, age 3

Camp Counselor
Omaha, NE, 07/12
20-30 middle or high-school aged campers

Professional Experience

Teaching Artist
Omaha, NE, 09/10 - 06/13

Teacher & Director
Burlington, MA, Summer 2010 & 2011

Camp Director
Durham, NH, June 2011

About Me

For as long as I can remember, children have been a part of my life. I taught Sunday school in middle/high school, I babysat and I was a camp counselor. More recently, I have been a nanny for a family of four: the kids were 4, 7, 9, and 11. I have experience with children who have ADD, ADHD, ODD, Down Syndrome and are on the Autism Spectrum. I strongly believe in the mantra that “it takes a village to raise a child”. I had lots of parental figures (parents, friends, aunts/uncles, etc.) growing up, and I love being a part of that community to other kids.

For the past three years, I’ve been a teaching artist at the Omaha Theater Company (OTC) where I had the opportunity to teach classes for pre-K through high school-aged students, as well as direct and act in productions. OTC specialized in encouraging creative thinking and problem-solving, fostering self-confidence and individuality, which is something I feel strongly about and focus on daily. I’m comfortable playing games of all varieties: outside, inside, board or imagination. My ability to find the line between authority figure and friend is strong, and is the reason why I connect to children so quickly and they respond to me so well.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Trying to figure out who I want to be when I grow up.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Making a difference.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I know basic/intermediate spanish. I like cooking, baking, doing experiments, making up games, playing games, playing outside, reading, video games, and going on outings.