Anna L.

Education

University of Mary Washington, B.A, Modern Foreign Languages – Spanish

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Fredericksburg, VA, 2011 - Present
Girl, age 2-4; boy 0-2
Part-time Babysitter
Fredericksburg, VA, 2008 - Present
Boy, age 0-4; girl age 0-2
Part-time Babysitter
Fredericksburg, VA, 2011 - 2013
Two boys, age 7-9 and 0-2; girl, age 3-5

Professional Experience

Volunteer
Cusco, Peru, Winter 2012
Volunteer
Quito, Ecuador, 10/11 - 12/11
Barn Manager
Spotsylvania, VA, 01/09 - 06/09

About Me

I love working in childcare and have been steadily accumulating experience for about 10 years now. I started out taking care of neighbors and doing nursery duty at church. In college I was lucky enough to find a fun group of moms to fight over me for their ladies’ nights out, and happily stayed in that small-town network for several years. The occasional sitting gig turned in to overnight stays and eventually international travel. I’ve even kept the kiddos at my own place overnight!

The bulk of my experience is with toddlers and babies. However, I have extensive volunteer experience with the “big kids” and youth. In volunteer settings I have worked with kids who are sick, orphaned, disabled, or who suffer mental illness. Before going back to school, I spent a year nannying full time for with a family with an infant and a toddler.

I firmly believe in the takes-a-village model for raising a child. A child’s safety and sense of security are always my primary concerns. I like to make aspects of play educational. I’ll always encourage kids to do something creative, or anything that gets them moving.

I am southerner in the city, originally from Virginia. I’m currently studying nursing at the Swedish Institute in Manhattan. I graduated the University of Mary Washington in 2013 with a BA in Spanish. My most recent obsessions include: Isabel Allende, The Talking Heads, yoga, and anything French vanilla.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working my way into a nursing program with the intention of specializing in pediatrics.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A nurse, hopefully with a master's degree. I am likely to be in school part-time for at least three more years, so in five years I hope to be settled into a job at a children's hospital somewhere on the East coast.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am a competent Spanish speaker. I'm very good with animals and am especially educated about horseback riding. I have also been involved in singing groups (choirs, musicals, etc.) and theater.