Avery H.

Education

New York University, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting

Childcare Experience

Regular Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/13 - Present
Two girls, ages 1 and 4

Regular Babysitting
Brooklyn, NY, 01/13 - Present
Girl, ages 3-7 months

Full-Time Nanny
San Francisco, CA, Summer 2013
Boy, age 5 - 8 months

Regular Babysitter
Newport, Oregon, 2006 - 2011
Three girls, ages 0-4, 3-7 and 6-10

Regular Babysitter
Newport, Oregon, 2006 - 2011
Boy, age 0-4; girl, age 3-7

Professional Experience

Waitress
Newport, Oregon, 2009 - 2012

Ballet Teacher
Newport, OR, 2007 - 2011

Barista / Cupcake Artist
Newport, OR, 2007 - 2008

About Me

I have six years of babysitting experience, as well as a summer of professional nannying in San Francisco. In my hometown in Oregon, I cultivated close relationships with numerous families and cared for their children repeatedly for long periods. As an art student at New York University, I enjoy expressing myself creatively and look forward to doing so with your kids! I also took numerous child psychology courses during my time at NYU. I have four years of experience teaching classical ballet to children ages 5-15 and enjoy nothing more than watching them learn and grow. I have a driver’s license and a record of safe, responsible driving. Need homework help? I am graduating from NYU in May with a Bachelor of Fine Arts and I have a year of experience in tutoring elementary children with special educational needs in math, science, and language arts.

I believe that children are competent, self-motivated learners. All children have the curiosity and the potential to construct their own learning environments, negotiate with their surroundings, and do as much as they are capable of doing for themselves! I believe in play-based learning with minimal instruction but plenty of positive encouragement.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning for theater roles in New York City.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in the theater industry and starting a family of my own!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am proficient enough in Spanish to teach children words, sentences, colors, etc. I am a trained artist and I love engaging creatively with children in music, dance and drama. I am an excellent cook and have professional baking and cake decorating experience.