Brent T.

Education

University of Oklahoma, B.A. English Literature

University of Oklahoma,
Masters in English Education

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Nisswa, MN, 05/11 - 08/13
Boys ages 6-16

After School Program Director
Norman, OK, 08/10 - 05/13
Children, ages 5-8

Manny
Norman, OK, 08/08 - 05/10
Boy age 6-8

Camp Counselor
Raquette Lake, NY, 05/08 - 08/08
Boys, ages 5-16

Swim Team Coach
Tulsa, OK, 05/06 - 08/07
Children, ages 5-16

Professional Experience

Teacher
Norman, OK, 08/13 - 05/14
Children, ages 14-15

About Me

I have dedicated my life to working with kids. It’s all I truly love doing. I have been one of the luckiest guys in the world to have many amazing caregivers and positive role models in my life. Those people have made me a person I’m proud to be and that is what I want to give back to the world. In doing so, I have been a long-term manny, ran an after school program, worked four summers at two amazing summer camps and taught in a formal classroom. Reading and writing are two of my biggest passions, and helping students enjoy literature and write well has been incredible! Literacy is imperative and I love helping to build on it. Also, stories are fun!

When working with kids, safety is my number one priority followed by amazingly good times! I have a lot of energy and I’m very active. I love to play and have a great imagination. I build strong relationships with kids easily and understand how important that relationship is. I value that the most. I like to share my passions with the kids I work with. Aside from reading I love to swim (which I did competitively for 12 years), play tennis, saxophone, sing, draw, work on my Spanish and ask questions (because learning is the best).

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

I hope to be SmartSitting full time!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A full time manny or teacher!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love to share a love for reading, speaking Spanish and/or Italian, swimming and music. I also love a good craft project and can make some mean pasta!