Cassie W.

Education

Hunter College, pursuing degree

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/14 - Present
Girl, age 9-11 months

Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 07/12 - Present
Girl, age 4 months-2; boy, age 3-5

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 05/10 - 11/13
Boy, age 5 months-3

Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 03/11 - 07/12
Three girls, ages 4-5, 2-3, 1-2

Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/10 - 01/11
Girl, age 2-6 months; boy, age 2 years

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/07 - 06/10
Girl, age 3-6; boy, age 6-9

Professional Experience

Office Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 09/13 - 12/13

Sales Associate
New York, NY, 07/07 - 09/07

Catering Waitress
Long Island, 09/05 - 02/06

Book Seller
Riverhead, NY, 09/04 - 07/05

Cashier
Moriches, NY, 10/01 - 09/04

About Me

I grew-up out on Long Island, moving to the city in 2006. Living in the city was always a big dream of mine since I was 9 years old. I also wanted to experience some independence while figuring out exactly what I wanted to do with my life. I was fortunate enough to be able to find creative, fun, meaningful and amazing work as a nanny. I was originally working towards a degree in Anthropology, but working with kids allowed me to discover a new passion: Early Education. I’ve always enjoyed babysitting, and I have been babysitting since I was 14 in one form or another. As a full-time nanny, I experienced a new opportunity to not only nurture, but to teach and watch a child’s personality grow.

I grew up in a very large and chaotic family, as the center middle child of five kids. Mostly thanks to my mother, the master of organizing chaos, I understand the need for structure but I also know that life gets chaotic. I find myself able to adjust quickly to any set-backs or things that come up out of the blue. My patience is pretty much endless, and I try to understand others limits as well as my own. I love to cook, draw, and be outside doing some kind of activity, such as a simple walk or even hiking, climbing or playing soccer.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on finishing school. I'm hoping to earn a degree focused on Early Child education.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Healthy, and possibly working my way to earning my masters.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Arts and crafts projects are some of my favorite things to do. From simple things with crayons, to knitting and making up projects of my own. I used to be wrestle in high school, and while I don't anymore, I still love to work out. I also used to play soccer and hockey. I also greatly enjoy rollerblading and ice skating.

I love making up stories with kids, or silly games to keep them amused even while doing something as simple as walking home from school. I love to cook, but I am not very skilled at baking. It can be fun even if they don't turn out perfectly!