Cayla B.

Education

Mississippi State University, Master of Science, Elementary
Mississippi State University, Bachelor of Science, Elementary Education

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
Van Vleet, MS, 06/00 - 06/08
Boy, age 3-11

Professional Experience

Fourth Grade Teacher
Van Vleet, MS, 08/12 - Present
Graduate Assistant
Mississippi State, MS, 01/11 - 05/12
Math Tutor
Louisville, MS, Summer 2010
Math Tutor
Louisville, MS, 01/10 - 05/10
Elementary Tutor
Starkville, MS, 01/10 - 05/10

About Me

Along with teaching, I have nannied two phenomenal children. I had the opportunity of nannying one child for over ten years. I began nannying when he was three and took care of him until he was in junior high school. I was responsible for him full-time during the summers. During the school year, I took him to school, picked him up from school and helped with homework. I was responsible for taking him to and from any baseball or soccer practices and games. I also traveled frequently with the family. I also nannied an infant for a few months while the mother was transitioning back into the work force.

I am very good with children and know that children are my calling. I love to play and act silly right along with them. I am very structured and organized and believe that children need that structure as well. Whether counting the bricks in the sidewalk, or exploring museums, I like to know the child is growing and learning. I talk to children continuously because conversation plays a major role in their learning. I love having fun and exploring with the children.

Along with teaching and nannying, I also enjoy being outside, working out, and volunteering at orphanages in Uganda. I have a heart for others and enjoying giving my time to help those in need. I am very healthy and active. I also enjoy cooking and learning new healthy recipes.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Enjoying all that NYC has to offer!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A little further south to be closer to my family. I also hope to be back in the classroom working with children, or working with a great family.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Anything that is involved in developmental activities, tutoring, or getting an early start on the child's education is a strength of mine.