Chelsea M.

Education

Florida State University, B.A., English – Editing, Writing, & Media

Childcare Experience

Live-in Nanny
San Francisco, CA, 2007
Girl, age 6; boy, age 3; boy, age 9 months
Camp Therapy Assistant
Salt Lake City, UT, 2000 - 2011
Children with autism, ages 4-15

Professional Experience

Contributing Blogger
05/12 - 07/12, Tallahassee, FL
Development/Outreach Intern
Tallahassee, FL, 01/12 - 06/12
Freelance Contributor
Gainesville, FL, 11/10 - 05/11
Coding Project Assistant
Tallahassee, FL, 08/09 - 06/10
Armed Conflict Location and Event Dataset Assistant
Oslo, Norway, 10/08 - 05/09

About Me

I am a dedicated and talented individual who will always go above and beyond in any work environment. My interests are varied, which serve as an indicator of my ability to jump into and find enjoyment in just about any opportunity, be it professional or otherwise. My experience and maturity are those typically found in someone a good deal older. I’ve spent my summers since 2000 working at Kris’ Camp, a therapy intensive camp geared toward children and young adults with autism and Aspergers. During that time I was responsible for children from ages ranging from under a year old up to 15 years old, with a wide range of developmental or medical issues, as well as children without any medical conditions.

In addition to my years of experience at Kris’ Camp, I also spent a summer as a live-in nanny for two families (in a duplex) with three children. I worked flexibly with both sets of parents to arrange when I would be in charge of the children, and will gladly provide the same flexibility for you! Outside of these two longer, more structured experiences I have held a number of regular babysitting jobs and have always received fantastic reviews from all of my employers.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Preparing to go to graduate school.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finished with graduate school and employed as a journalist! I'd ideally like to work for a long-form publication (such as a magazine like The New Yorker, The Atlantic, or Harper's).

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Excellent reader and writer, literacy trained through Americorps, fluent in French, and have also studied Italian, Mandarin Chinese, and Russian.