David S.

Education

University of Arizona, Bachelor of Psychology

Childcare Experience

Case Manager
Tucson, AZ, 09/13 - 04/14
Children,ages 4-19

Direct Service Provider, Respite and Therapeutic Day Program Tucson, AZ, 01/12 - 09/13
Children, ages 4-17

Camp Counselor
Shandaken, NY, 06/11 - 08/11
Boys, 10-12 years old

Divorce Recovery Group Facilitator
Tucson, AZ, 02/10 - 07/10
Children, ages 4-12

Professional Experience

Driver
Tucson, AZ, 01/11 - 05/11

Sales
Tucson, AZ, 05/07 - 01/10

Salesfloor/Cashier
11/06 - 05/07

About Me

My previous positions as a camp counselor, respite/therapeutic day program provider, and behavior health case manager have given me an opportunity to work in a variety of roles and with a variety of behaviors. I have worked with children whom are clinically diagnosed with ADHD, Oppositional Defiant Disorder, Autism, Anxiety Disorder, etc. I also have experience working in more of a “big brother” role at Timber Lake Camp. In both these positions, I have worked to increase self-esteem as well as other important skills such as coping with frustration/anger, increasing ability to make and maintain friends, increase independent and leadership skills, increasing ability to follow directions, increase ability to engage in a non-preferred activity, and many more skills. I will bring my professional standards and positivist approach to work with your family.

My interests include nearly every sport except for curling, stand-up comedy, and writing. I am sure I could talk about video games and children’s TV with your children for days, but I would be more than willing to take them on community outings to museums, parks, and the like. I have patience, skill, and the ability to connect with children and their families which I believe makes me a strong candidate to work with your family.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

I will be SmartSitting while writing, performing stand-up comedy, and watching as much baseball as possible.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finishing a graduate program in psychology and law. I will then use this degree to advocate for children's needs in school.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am an active person. Despite not being drafted professionally, I enjoy playing/teaching sports such as baseball, soccer, football, and basketball. I am a fan of creative expression through writing and arts and crafts.