Elizabeth S.

Education

Denison University, B.A. Fine Art

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/13 - Present
Boy, age 9

Babysitter
Granville, OH, 12/10 - 08/13
Three boys, age 6-8, 8-10, 12-14

Muralist Facilitator
Newark, OH, 08/12
Girls and boys, middle school age

Art Club Counselor and Tutor
Newark, OH, 05/11 - 08/11
Girls and boys, middle school age

Garden of Hope Coordinator
Newark, OH, 05/10 - 08/10
Girls and boys, high school age

Tutor and Mentor
Newark, OH, 08/09 - 07/11
Girl, age 8-10

Professional Experience

Front of House Assistant
New York, NY, 09/13 - Present

Sustainable Builder
Granville, OH, 05/13 - 08/13

Teacher's Assistant
Granville, OH, 06/12 - 05/13

Admissions Intern
Granville, OH, 09/09 - 08/10

Server
Eastlake, OH, 05/08 - 08/09

About Me

During my time in college I discovered a passion in working with youth, engaging them in their community and exploring the endless possibilities of art. I attended a university called Denison where I completed a degree in Fine Arts. Now living in Brooklyn I am looking for opportunities to become involved in those such areas and that is why I am so drawn to babysitting. Children have a true desire to learn, explore and create and as a caregiver I strive to help form those environments that foster such memorable experiences. I have been babysitting regularly for the past five years now and just finished working with a family for three years once I moved here.
Prior to New York I lived in an intentional student run community where we maintained gardens, cared for chickens, and ran on solar energy. Due to that experience I strongly support a healthy living style. I feel very comfortable cooking and love to explore outside. When working with children I like to maintain a fun, imaginative learning space while also staying steadfast to the the safety of the children and the parental guidelines. In conjunction with maintaining my own art practice I enjoy playing all sorts of board and card games, and seeing a variety of films, play, exhibitions, etc.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

I hope to make SmartSitting my main employment while I do my own art practice.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In 5 years I hope to be sailing around the world helping to make a documentary. First I must save money and learn how to sail!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Cooking, gardening, soccer, basketball, volleyball, and all sorts of arts and crafts including painting, drawing, and sculpture.