Elsa H.

Education

Wesleyan University, Bachelor's: African American Studies and Spanish

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
Avon, CT, 04/14 - 06/14
Girl, age 4; boy, age 2

Summer Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 06/13 - 08/13
Boy, age 4; girl, age 4

Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 06/13 - 08/13
Boy, age 14; twin girls, age 12; girl, age 9

After-school Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 12/12 - 01/13
Girl, age 12; girl, age 10

Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 06/10 - Present
Boy, age 1-5

Occasional Babysitter and Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 2006 - 2010
Two boys, age 9-13 and 1-4; girl, age 3-7

Professional Experience

Teaching Assistant
Middletown, CT, Fall 2013

Art Instructor
Harlem, NY, Summer 2012

Resident Advisor
Middletown, CT, 09/11 - 12/12

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 09/06 - 06/10

Occasional Teacher's Aid
Brooklyn, NY, 2006 - Present

About Me

I have been babysitting and nannying for over six years, during which time I have cared for children ages two months to twelve years. In my time as a child caretaker I have worked as a mother’s helper, a tutor, a part time or occasional sitter, and a full time sitter. I am happy to support families holistically by doing light housekeeping and laundry, arranging playdates, planning and cooking meals, providing homework support, and caring for pets. I grew up in a nurturing, child-centered household and attended public NYC schools that promoted experiential, project-based learning. I seek to implement these philosophies as a caregiver. Above all else, I love to be active and creative with kids, whether we are cooking, baking, doing arts and crafts, playing games like soccer and hide and seek, or reading.

Until recently, I was in school pursuing my Bachelor’s degree, which kept me very busy between work-study jobs and my senior thesis. Outside of my life at school, I love to cook, swim, travel, volunteer at the Brooklyn New School, and spend time in Prospect Park.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Continuing to study Portuguese.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Pursuing a PhD!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak Spanish and am learning Portuguese. I LOVE to cook! I grew up in a sports-obsessed household but I most enjoy soccer. I love to sew, collage, paint, sketch, and mosaic with kids.