Erika A.

Education

Saint Michael's College, B.A. Education, Anthropology/Sociology

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Essex, VT, 08/10 - Present
Two girls, ages 1-3 and 3-6

Nanny
Shelburne, VT, 06/13 - 9/13
Boy, age 5; girl, age 6

After-school Nanny
Essex, VT, 09/12 - 06/13
Two girls, age 5 and 8

Nanny
Colchester, VT, 06/12 - 09/12
Two girls, age 7 months and 3

Professional Experience

Para Educator
Essex, VT, 09/10 - Present

Work Study Student
Colchester, VT, 09/07 - Present

About Me

I have always enjoyed interacting and exploring with children and find their sense of wonder and excitement for their world to be inspiring and refreshing. My work as the recess coordinator for an elementary school has taught me to be patient, observant, and positive! Working with special needs children has shown me a great deal about how children grown and learn and various ways to accommodate differing needs. I have 16 years experience working children ages three weeks and older.

I am a firm believer in fostering independence in children; it gives them ownership of their world and allows them to be more autonomous throughout their day. Whether it’s tying your shoes, zipping your coat or opening your own lunch box, they allow children to not be so dependent and increases the types of activities you can do together. I am eager to dream and learn with your child, teach them Spanish and Sign Language, craft, bake, and grow together! When I’m not running around with children, I love to see Broadway shows, read in Central Park and spending time with friends over dinner.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Spending time with my wife and enjoying New York City!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finished with a Masters degree, and thinking about having children of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak Spanish, grew up speaking German and know a lot of Sign Language. I love to cook and bake and I am always up for a craft project!