Jacqueline W.

Education

New York University,  Social Work

Global College Long Island University, Education Development/Global Studies

Childcare Experience

Summer Camp Assistant Instructor
New York, NY, 06/13 - 08/13
Girls, ages 5 - 11

Live-in Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 04/12 - 07/13
Girls, ages 3, 5 and 7

Orphanage Volunteer Teacher
Bangalore, India, 12/11 - 06/12
Children, ages 1 - 15

Summer Camp Counselor
Virginia City, NV, 06/06 - 06/10
Children, ages 5-11

Professional Experience

Direct Support Professional for Children with Developmental Disabilities
Eureka, CA, 12/10 - 06/11
Boys, ages 7, 13, 14, 19; girls, ages 13, 18

About Me

My passion is rooted in education. From an early age, I began working with children both in the U.S. and abroad and have followed this passion for the past seven years. After having studied in New York, I lived in India for a year working with child laborers and with children in orphanages. I absolutely love all that NYC has to offer and returned to the city a year and a half ago while working as a nanny for a wonderful family.

I am extremely devoted to making the time I spend with children enriching, fun and positive. I love to spread an optimistic attitude as well as encourage health, creativity and learning in an environment which children can feel cared for and safe. Overall I feel strongly about following my passions and encouraging others to do the same!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Independently studying international education systems, revamping my Spanish skills and starting a writing group for teenagers in my community to encourage free and healthy expression.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in education research to improve the schooling system in which children are being brought up. Additionally, I hope to be a published writer in 5 years time.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I grew up in an environment in which I learned how to bake from scratch, work with animals, and sew which I love to recreate for children. Additionally I love to help children express themselves through art (whether it's painting, poetry, writing or music). I am proficient in Spanish and able to tutor as well.