Janine C.

Education

Portland State University, B.A. International Studies, focus in European Studies

Childcare Experience

Professional Nanny
New York, NY, 10/13 - 08/14
Three boys, ages 2, 4, 6

Professional Nanny
Portland, OR, 01/12 - 07/12
Girl, age 8 months - 14 months

Professional Nanny
Portland, OR, 06/11 - 12/11
Two boys, age 4 and 9; girl, age 7

Summer Camp Counselor
Harts, WV, 6/2010
Girl, age 11; 5 girls, age 14

Professional Experience

K-2 Lead Teacher
Myrtle Beach, SC, 09/12 - 06/13

Theater Teacher
Oregon City, OR, 01/12 - 04/12

Community Relations AmeriCorps VISTA
Vancouver, WA, 10/10 - 6/11

Arts and Culture AmeriCorps VISTA
Harts, WV, 5/09 - 07/10

Administrative Assistant
Portland, OR, 6/08 - 10/08

About Me

I came to working with children a few years after college, when I realized I wanted to pursue my career as a theater artist more seriously and have a fulfilling, rewarding day job that allowed me to be on my feet. I have two years experience as a Professional Nanny and one year of experience as a Lead Preschool Teacher. I have also worked as a Theater Teacher (improv and devising) and Summer Camp Director and Counselor (a music and self empowerment camp for girls). As an actress and theater-maker, I enjoy work that is creative, high energy and different all the time. Being a caregiver is all of those things, which is why I enjoy it so much. Music, art, literature and dramatic play are focal points in my work with children and I can spend large amounts of time pretending, playing games, or doing crafts. I am also great at facilitating children in theater making, film-making or song-writing. I am an animal lover and have two dogs myself, so I am very comfortable with pets or children who have animals as a key interest.

Each child possesses a unique way of interacting with the world and I do my best to work with their personal interests and learning style in order to foster creativity, critical thinking skills and most of all, self confidence. I rejoice with children when they reach milestones and often times, learn many things about myself and the world right along with them.

In addition to childcare, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two dogs, performing and devising theater with my collective, running, doing yoga and various forms of dance and generally just taking in all that Brooklyn and New York has to offer.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

I am attending the Evening Conservatory at Atlantic Acting School.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Teaching physical theater, working full time with my collective and perhaps as a teaching artist.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Theater, film, knitting, sewing, dancing and movement, music, baking, general crafting, reading, playing games and lots of outside time exploring.