Katie H.

Education

New York University, Bachelors of Music, Music Business

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present
Boy, age 15 months - 2

Camp Counselor
White Plains, NY, 06/12 - 08/12
Boys and girls, ages 3 and 4

Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/11 - 6/12
Boy, age 4 months - 12 months

Babysitter
New York, NY, 04/12
Girl, 2 months

Babysitter
Pasadena, CA, 06/06 - 01/11
Two girls, ages 6 months - 6 and 4 months - 3

Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 05/10 - 12/10
Girl, age 18 months - 2

Professional Experience

Musical and Production Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 02/12 - 05/12

Clerical Assistant
Los Angeles, CA, 06/07 - 07/07, 08/08

Tutor
La Canada, CA, 09/07 - 06/08

Youth Conference Staff Member
Washington, D.C., 07/07

About Me

A couple of months before graduating from New York University with a degree in Music Business, I came to the realization that I would much rather be a teacher than work in the music industry. Since then, I have been fortunate enough to do what I enjoy the most—work with kids! I’ve been a full-time nanny, a camp counselor, an assistant to a “kindie” music performer—all of it has been incredibly rewarding and motivating, and most of all, fun! From these experiences, I’ve become pretty immersed in the NYC kid-centric community, and I love getting out and about with the kids I babysit—there are so many great programs and activities available for the younger set (and usually fun for adults too). I love taking advantage of all that the city has offer, for myself and for the children in my care.

In my attempts to explore all of the strange and wonderful things about NYC, my usual activities include attending concerts, lectures, and movies, especially outdoors; visiting museums; and riding my bike around Brooklyn. I also enjoy singing and playing the piano, writing songs and poems, and cooking adventurous vegan and vegetarian recipes, and I’m working my way through an extensive, self-guided reading list. I’m curious about everything and love to learn—which is one of the reasons I think I get along so well with kids! I hope to not only be a caretaker to the children I babysit, but also a mentor and a friend.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Teaching myself French, practicing singing and the piano, and relearning the clarinet!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finishing up my masters degrees in choral education and foreign language education, after having spent a year or two living abroad.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Singing and dancing, cooking healthy meals, visiting museums and parks, attending children's concerts, reading, making up stories, playing soccer and volleyball, gymnastics, yoga, Irish dancing, making and playing with playdough, drawing and painting, making collages and popsicle stick puppets, jumping on trampolines.