Kei O.

Education

New York University, B.F.A. Studio Art

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Queens, NY, 12/12 - 01/13
Girl, age 7

Professional Experience

Queens Museum of Art Associate Coordinator
Queens, NY, 06/12 - 08/12
Children, ages 6-12

Camp Blogger, Queens Museum of Art
Queens, NY 06/11 - 08/11
Children, ages 7-12

6th Grade Art and Literacy Tutor
New York, NY, 09/10 - 06/11
Children, ages 11-12

Studio in a School Art Mentor
New York, NY, 06/10 - 08/10
Children, ages 5-17

About Me

I’ve been blessed to have had amazing opportunities and interactions in the city, from my history as a full-time ballet dancer to a recently graduated art major. At NYU, I found the organization Studio in a School which exposed me to art education and allowed me to find a niche in teaching art to children. My favorite experiences come from working at the Queens Museum of Art’s summer camp, BIG Time Art Thing for Kids, a wonderful art gym that immerses children ages 7-12 in full days of creative expression. I was able to explore various media such as printmaking, bookmaking, stop-motion animation, and costume-making there.

I’m passionate about everything I do—whether it is dancing, art-making, or simply having fun. As a teacher and babysitter, safety is my number one priority while supporting children in a fun and supportive environment. I love building sculptures, engaging in the outdoors, and embarking on any wild projects or ideas that kids have. I hope to continue working with children in a creative capacity as they inspire me constantly as an artist, teacher, and individual. Their perception and energy keep me young!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Looking into art and museum education opportunities as well as continuing my own artistic practice.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A teaching artist!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I'm fluent in Japanese! I love sharing anything creative with children, including drawing, painting, creating sculptures, and also physical activity such as dancing.