Kelsey W.

Education

Kent State University, B.A. Integrated Language Arts

Childcare Experience

Ohio Graduation Test Tutor
Akron, OH, Fall 2011
Boy, 15

Student Teacher / Observer
Massillon, OH, Spring 2012
Children, ages 13-14

Full Time Student Teacher
Canton, Ohio, 01/13 - 04/13
Children, ages 14-18

Professional Experience

Waitress
Canton, OH and New York, NY, 05/09 - Present

Sales Clerk
Canton, OH, 06/07 - 05/09

About Me

I have never considered a career for myself that did not involve childcare. Education has always been of the utmost importance to me. When I was younger, I was even one of those peculiar children that enjoyed going to school every day. That’s mostly because I love to read and write, and I distinctly remember having fun, energetic teachers that showed that they cared about their students. Those are the two main things that I want to bring with me into a family: fun and compassion. In my experience, children have the greatest chance of success when they are entertained and laughing and when they know that they are valued and loved.

I have experience with middle school and high school aged children from my educational experiences at Kent State University. I also helped to raise my two younger siblings after my mother took ill, so I have experience with infants and toddlers as well. I love to bake and experiment in the kitchen. I love to do all sorts of arts and crafts from coloring to making collages to making my own books. I adore reading and writing and would love to inspire a passion for literature in children of all ages. In the summers I love going for walks and exploring this great city, and in the winter I love to snow ski and, of course, cuddle up with a good book.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on my own writing, including poetry and a novel.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In a stable position with a family, and perhaps with a book on its way to being published.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love to bake, cook and eat vegetarian food, make collages, color, read, write, tell stories, learn about history, snow and water ski, and swim. I took five years of French, although I would not consider myself fluent.