Laura G.

Education

University of Mississippi, B.A., Art History and English

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
Oxford, MS, 08/01 - 05/07
Two girls and two boys, ages 10, 5, 2, and newborn
Part-time Nanny
Tupelo, MS, 08/96 - 05/01
Boy, age 4; girl, newborn
6th and 7th Grade Teacher
Tupelo, MS, 5/07 - 08/07
Children, ages 11-13

Professional Experience

Event Planner/Designer
Tupelo, MS, 12/09 - Present
Sales and Design
Tupelo, MA, 2009 - 2011
Dance Instructor
Tupelo, MS, 2002 - Present

About Me

After graduating from the University of Mississippi, I moved to Los Angeles to pursue my passion for dance and performing arts where I studied under world-renowned instructors who improved my knowledge and skills, which I have been able to take with me and share with my students today.

Along with teaching performing arts to children and young adults, and working in event design, I have been a nanny for what seems like my entire life. Before attending college, I nannied for a family of two: one boy and one girl (age 4 and a newborn). I worked with them for five years before I left for college. In college I nannied for a family of four: two girls and two boys (ages 10, 5, 2, and newborn). As a nanny, my responsibility is to provide complete care for the children, perform all duties that relate to the care of the children, and to create a safe, nurturing and stimulating environment in which the children can learn, thrive, and progress daily. I am also responsible for performing daily household duties and preparing meals.

Aside from my work, I also enjoy walking, running, and biking in the parks, horseback riding, ceramics, music, writing, golfing, and tennis. As a childcare provider, I feel that it is very important to guide the children in education but to also be able to engage in physical activities with them.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Taking dance classes, volunteering with nonprofit organizations, riding my bike, golfing, spending time with great friends, and experiencing everything this beautiful city has to offer!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A home owner with a HUGE garden, boarding horses and teaching riding lessons!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Art (studio art, design, dance, music), physical fitness, English (reading and writing), math, history