Laura P.

Education

Ball State University, B.A., Elementary Education – Reading Endorsement

Childcare Experience

Full-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/12 - present
Boy, age 3-4; girl, age 5 months-1 year
Full-time Nanny
Greenwood, IN, 08/09 - 09/11
Two boys, ages 6 and 3; girl, age 1
Part-time Nanny
Greenwood, IN, 05/07 - 08/07 ; Summer 2012
Two boys, ages 12 and 7; girl, age 5
Special Needs Instructional Assistant
Carmel, IN, 09/11 - 05/12
Boys and girls, ages 6-7

Professional Experience

After-care Enrichment Teacher
Indianapolis, IN, 09/10 - 09/12

About Me

I am an elementary teacher by trade, and have worked in a variety of academic settings over the past 7 years, including Montessori classrooms. In addition to my professional teaching experience, I have served as a babysitter and nanny for the past 18 years. I have vast amounts of experience working with children of all ages. I hope to be matched with an incredible family through SmartSitting with whom I can build a long-term relationship by providing excellent care for their children.

I was raised in a small city in Indiana, and in order to stay home with my younger sister and me, my mother opened an in-home daycare. My entire childhood is filled with precious memories of the many children in our home. At the age of 11, I began babysitting on weekends for the families from my mother’s daycare. (The first little girl I ever cared for is now a junior at Purdue University!) During my high school years, I tutored elementary students in reading and math.

My hobbies and interests include dance, photography, reading, writing, social justice awareness, travel, and working with wonderful children. My heart’s desire is to one day be a mother, but until that time, I will use my talents and abilities to care for others’ children as if they were my own.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Enjoying all that NYC has to offer!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Living in India working to combat female infanticide, or serving alongside a friend at her orphanage in Honduras. I may be working with the same SmartSitting family I'll be matched with in NYC. I may be a mother. I'm open to possibilities!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Proficient in Spanish and German; excellent computer and typing skills; outstanding organizer and planner; excellent teacher, both of academics and of life skills; proficient studio and wedding photographer; former dancer