Mehla G.

Education

Bard College, Bachelors of Fine Arts

Southern California Institute of Architecture, Certificate of Making + Meaning

Childcare Experience

Weekend Overnight Nanny
New York, NY, 09/12 - 07/13
Boy, age 8 months-18 months

Part-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 01/13 - 07/13
Girl, age 7 months - 14 months

Children's Yoga Instructor
Hudson, New York, 08/09 - 05/09
Children, ages 5-12

Weekly Part-time Babysitter
Madison, WI, 08/99 - 07/06
Two boys, ages 0-5

Professional Experience

Production Manager
New York, NY, 09/13 - Present

Visitor Assistant
New York, NY, 05/12 - 01/13

Sales Associate / Assistant Manager
Woodstock, NY, 04/09 - 01/12

Studio Monitor
New York, NY, 08/10 - 12/11

About Me

Since earning my BFA, I have worked for a major museum, a non-profit arts organization, and jewelry company. I have since concluded that the level of fulfillment and joy that comes with childcare is far greater than any victory offered in a corporate setting. I prefer working with children and spending my free time making art, jewelry, and practicing yoga over the traditional career paths taken by my peers. I enjoy the spontaneity, high energy, and creativity inherent in childcare and I approach childcare with a spirit of compassion, discovery, and creative play to enrich daily routines.

Nurturing creative play and curiosity are the focal points of my work with children. While I enjoy teaching art making techniques to elementary aged children, I equally adore reading children’s books aloud to infants. I rejoice with each milestone that the children in my care reach and seek a family that I can grow and connect with as I take weekend jewelry classes and continue to develop an environmentally sustainable jewelry line in my free time.

My recent infant care experience includes weekday care for a happy and intelligent infant (now toddler) living in a Brooklyn brownstone walk up. Our daily activities consisted of imaginative play, educational games, reading aloud, dancing (bopping) to kids tunes, and trips to the park. I carried her and her baby gear up and down many flights of stairs and I’m physically active and fit, which I consider to be an asset to nannying in New York City. Simultaneously, I cared for an infant/toddler in the East Village. My duties included evening and overnight shifts during which time I carefully monitored his breathing and administered a nebulizer as needed (asthmatic). During his waking hours we explored local parks, the zoo, and children’s museum; practiced standing, walking, and ultimately running! I prepared homemade baby food, bottle fed, and bathed him as per his daily routine. And worked in tandem with his mother to coordinate visits to her office and dinners during which time we worked in tandem to care for her son.

I am a positive role-model and friend to the children that I care for. With over 10 years of child care experience, I am comfortable working with children of varying age groups, interests, and family backgrounds. I foster critical thinking, early learning, and social development through creative play, reading, and art making. I am devoted to fostering each child’s creativity. In my spare time I enjoy practicing Bikram, rollerblading, walking, reading, jewelry making, cooking, spending time with friends, and visiting art galleries.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

I develop environmentally sustainable jewelry.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

An entrepreneur and lead designer of my own sustainable jewelry business as well as a loving mother.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Stamp making, jewelry making, cooking, drawing, painting, yoga, out door adventures, field-trips to the library, museums, and botanical gardens, reading, and imaginative play.