Michael L.

Education

Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts, B.A., Writing

Childcare Experience

Private Teacher
New York, NY, 01/11 - Present
Two boys, ages 2-4 and 1-3
After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 3/10 - Present
Twin boys, age 5-8

Professional Experience

YMCA Counselor
New York, NY, 11/09 - 3/10

About Me

With more than a decade of babysitting and teaching experience, I have developed a philosophy that places less of an emphasis on “childcare” and focuses more on nurturing personal growth.  I create an environment where children become less dependent on their grown-ups and more self-sufficient.  By removing the authoritarian role and replacing it with one of mutual respect, I promote confidence in independence while allowing children to cultivate relationships on a personal level rather than out of necessity.  For me, routine is paramount to limiting variables and encouraging co-operation.  As an alternative to punishment, I believe that allowing children to experience the negative consequences of destructive behavior is a learning opportunity invaluable to character development.

Over the course of my life I’ve moved from California to Colorado to Upstate New York to New York City, and relocating has taught me that what defines a home is the people, not the place. I had the privilege of attending phenomenal schools that placed an emphasis on balancing academics, the arts, and athletics. I still believe that balance is crucial so I engage my mind in reading and I meet with my book club, I do improvisational theatre, and I keep active by rock climbing (which I did competitively in Colorado) or playing any sport I can (I played organized baseball, basketball, hockey, football, and lacrosse at one time or another).  I believe that the easiest thing for a child to do is to mirror the behavior they see in others, so I try, above all, to be that well-rounded role model who is curious, observant, conscientious, and caring.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Writing and performing improv comedy at night in the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A published writer who also does improvisational theatre. I hope to sustain myself with writing so that I can work from home for when I eventually become a father.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Limited Spanish, writing and math tutoring, sports instruction