Nicole A.

Education

CUNY Queens College
Anthropology (In Progress)

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/07-09/12
Girl, age 8-13

Occasional Babysitter/Nanny Assistant
New York, NY, 09/08-09/12
Girl, age 9-13

YMCA Swimming Instructor Volunteer
LIC, NY, 6/07-8/07
Boys and Girls, ages 4+

Professional Experience

Music Instructor
Swan Piano Co. Sunnyside, NY, 01/09 - Present

Receptionist/Chiropractor's Assistant
Roosevelt Medical Group Woodside, NY, 07/13-05/14

Piano Instructor
KTS Music School Ozone Park, NY, 04/12 - 07/13

Sales Associate
Anthropologie Chelsea, NY, 06/11-08/11

Hostess
Payag Woodside, NY, 07/10-12/10

About Me

While attending college, I have obtained jobs related to child-care and instruction that have allowed me to assist young learners in developing a creative mind. The duties entailed within my job as a music instructor provides children with the opportunity to grow mentally and socially through creative endeavors and discipline. In addition to teaching music for seven years, I have also served as an occasional babysitter for about five to six years. The age group I am experienced with among both fields is with children ages four and up. I am cultured and well-versed in dance, language, and music. I am also into health and nutrition, so eating and being healthy is a priority for me.

I enjoy working with children particularly because they are our future. I strongly feel that children need mentors and people who believe in them, their ideas, and their dreams. Although working with children can be quite fun, I also recognize that limits, structure, and rules must be put into place and adhered to in order to ensure their full development and safety. The children I work with bring me joy and I look forward to our lessons as I not only have the opportunity to provide them with knowledge but in turn, they do the same for me. Teaching and taking care of children are rewarding jobs and I currently take and will continue to take the experiences to help me become the best teacher I may be. I am a very artistic person and strongly believe that art is essential for expression and healing. I know how to play the recorder, piano, flute, guitar, violin, and saxophone. I am also an aspiring singer/songwriter. I also know how to dance ballet, tap, jazz, hip-hop, and flamenco.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

continuing my education and working as a music instructor.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

either a Pre-K or Kindergarten teacher, if not an ESL teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

language (Spanish & French), music (recorder, piano, guitar, flute), singing, arts & crafts, biking, and swimming.