Rachel S.

Education

New York University, B.F.A Drama

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/11 - Present
Two girls, ages 10 months-4 and 3 months-1

Babysitter / Nanny
New York, NY, 11/02 - 10/12
Girl, age 10 months - 10; boy, birth-age 5

Babysitter/Nanny
New York, NY, 05/06 - 07/10
Girl, newborn- age 4; boy, newborn

Overnight Nanny
New York, NY, 08/09
Boy, newborn

Nanny
New York, NY, 01/07 - 08/07
Girl, age 1

Babysitter / Nanny
New York, NY, 06/06 - 12/06
Two girls, age 3

Professional Experience

Paralegal
New York, NY, 06/09 - Present

Barista
New York, NY, 09/08 - 05/09

Restaurant Concierge
New York, NY, 05/08 - 07/08

About Me

From camp counseling at the YMCA to full-charge care of a young toddler, I have always found myself both the most comfortable and the most successful helping children grow and learn more about their world. Whether it’s rocking a colicky newborn or playing pirates with an adventuresome preschooler, my approach is hands-on and creative. Safety, consistency, and activity are my watchwords in any caregiving situation. Through DONA-approved doula training, I’ve also learned to be especially helpful to new parents, encouraging confidence and the acquisition of new skills.

As a graduate of NYU’s musical theater program, my love of music permeates everything I do, whether it’s playing piano, teaching myself guitar, or belting out showtunes in the shower. I also enjoy a number of domestic pursuits, including baking, knitting, and gardening. Living in Brooklyn means there’s always a new gallery or restaurant to try, and I aim to take advantage of it all. I’m also a huge swimmer and beachgoer, and treasure sharing my love of water with children. Helping a toddler go from bathtub-averse to ocean swimmer is one of my proudest achievements!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Taking acting and voice classes; developing the perfect homemade bread recipe.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in theater and music, potentially starting a family of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

French, piano, cooking, arts & crafts (painting, nature crafts, soapmaking, etc.), reading, dramatic play, knitting, crochet, handwork, yoga, music (rhythm, melody, etc) and swimming.