Sarah H.

Education

Brigham Young University, B.A. Communication

Childcare Experience

Full-time Summer Nanny
Albuquerque, NM, 2007 - 2008
Boy age 11-12; two girls, ages 7-8 and 3-4

YMCA Camp Counselor
Albuquerque, NM, Summer 2007
20 children, age 5

Occasional Babysitter
Albuquerque, NM, 2006 - 2008
Boy 3-5

Nanny
Albuquerque, NM, 2004 - 2006
Two boy 7-9 and 4-6; two girls, ages 1-3 and 0-2

Professional Experience

Account Executive
Idaho Falls, ID, 01/11 - 06/13

Traffic Manager
Albuquerque, NM, 05/08 - 09/08

Intern
New York, NY, 01/08 - 05/08

About Me

I grew up in the New Mexico desert, earned my degree just outside of Yellowstone National Park and worked in the radio industry for a few years. My husband and I recently relocated to The Big Apple, where he’ll be earning his M.S. at Columbia. He always tells me that I’d make a great teacher. I love children and I grew up with seven siblings, so I know all about self-entertainment and busy schedules. I keep in touch with a few of the families that I nannied for years, since some of my younger sisters continue to nanny them today!

I enjoy exploring and creating. I believe it is important to talk to children like adults and help them learn to communicate well. I like to ask children questions to uncover their individual passions and talents, in order to fuel them. I revel in different personalities and like to observe them. I love to be outside, especially running Central Park or cycling along the Hudson River. I also have very active museum attendance.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples.

I will be SmartSitting while…

Supporting my husband in his studies at Columbia University.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A new mother, while possibly doing some media buying on the side.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak fluent Spanish and love to practice with children, teaching them vocabulary and sentence structure. I love exploring museums and parks. I sew, bake, cook, create, paint, am an amateur photographer and actually enjoy cleaning and organizing.