Shannon T.

Education

Ohio State University, Masters of Early Childhood Education

Childcare Experience

Regular Evening Weekend Babysitter
Ashland, OH, 06/09 - 05/13
Two boys, age 10 months to 3 years, and 5-9

Evening Babysitter
Columbus, OH, 2/11 - 8/12
Boy, 6 months-2 years

Back-up Nanny
Mt Gilead, OH, 10/10 - 8/11
Boy, 2 years; 3 girls ages 2, 4, and 4

Professional Experience

Substitute Teacher
Crawford County, OH, 5/10 - 5/12

Student Assistant
Mansfield, OH, 9/05 - 6/09

About Me

I have been babysitting for friends and family  since the age of eleven. My mother ran a daycare out of her home, and I have been helping take care of children my whole life. I have had many experiences working with children of all ages in a variety of settings including babysitting, teaching bible school, working at a childcare center, nannying, and teaching. Working with children is what I’ve always done and what I know best. Since getting my master’s degree in education, I have gained a lot of experience working with preschool and school-age children. I have learned many tools to help them learn and grow at every level. During college, I worked at a childcare center where I worked with infants through school-age children. While there, I gained a really strong appreciation for play through learning. I know that there is so much to be learned from all different types of play. I am equipped with knowledge about child development and what children need at each stage.

I really love to have fun with children. I enjoy getting down on the floor and playing with them, reading with them, and doing arts and crafts projects. I also enjoy singing, dancing, and listening to music with children. As much as I love to have fun, I am also able to create structure and set rules when needed. During my time in the classroom, I was able to learn effective methods for discipline and structure. In my free time I love to go to concerts, plays, and comedy shows. I love meeting new people and spending time with friends.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working towards a career behind the scenes in the music industry.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in the music industry in some capacity, possibly managing musicians.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love playing sports of all kinds (I played basketball, volleyball, and softball), I love to do arts and crafts of all kinds with children, and I enjoy finding teachable moments throughout the day.