Sophia D.

Education

Sarah Lawrence College, Bachelor of Arts with concentrations in Literature and Italian

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Waterbury Center, VT, 08/12 - 06/13
Two girls, ages 5-6 and 6-7; boy, age 9-10

Part-time Nanny
Harrison, NY, 02/11 - 06/11
Two boys, ages 1 and 3

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/08 - 06/11
Boy, age 3-6

Part-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 05/09 - 05/10
Two girls, ages 2-3 and 5-6

Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/08 - 06/11
Girl, age 3-6

Professional Experience

Part-time Assistant, Montessori School
Montpelier, VT, 10/11 - Present

About Me

Since graduating from Sarah Lawrence College, I have worked with children in many different settings. Through my work at the Montessori School of Central Vermont, where I have spent the last two years as an assistant, I have learned to strike the delicate balance between providing a loving and calm presence for children while setting healthy boundaries and being consistent about them. Perhaps most importantly, I have honed the delicate art of patience.

My instinct for safety is keen, and I am highly intuitive about the needs of children. My work with both siblings and classmates has given me a lot of experience aiding in conflict resolution — it has taught me to know when to intervene and when to step back and observe. Being “in the moment” with children is one of my chief joys, and I enjoy doing various activities with them including but not limited to cooking projects, art projects, complex imaginative play, having long conversations, singing songs, and joking around. I am happy to run around with children and be active, and am equally happy to spend an afternoon lounging together and reading lots of books. On my down time I like to read, draw, hear music, see movies, and spend time with people I love. I try to enjoy each day to its fullest.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Occasionally babysitting for children outside of the network.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In a professional position either as a teacher or as an ultrasound technician.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love cooking, singing, and collaborating on stories, art, and imagination games with children.