Tyler S.

Education

University of Virginia, Bachelor of Arts in English Literature; Bachelor of Arts in Studio Art

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 1/14 - Present
Girl, age 2.5

Evening Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/12 - Present
Girl, age 8 months-2 1/2 years

Full-time Nanny
Edgartown, MA, Summers 2008-2011
Two boys and one girl, ages 9-12, 6-9, and 3-6

Babysitter
Charlottesville, VA, 08/10 - 06/11
Three boys, ages 5, 7, and 10

Evening Babysitter
Charlottesville, VA, 08-10 - 06-11
One girl, age 2 months - 1 year

Babysitter
Vineyard Haven, MA, Summers 2008-2010
One boy, age 5-7

Professional Experience

Marketing Manager
New York, NY, 10/13 to Present

Assistant Editor
New York, NY, 06/12 - 09/13

Intern to the Merchandising Editor
New York, NY, 02/12 - 06/12

Intern to the Associate Publisher
Washington, DC, 09/11 - 03/12

Celebrity & Entertainment Editor (Internship)
Charlottesville, VA, 12/10 - 06/11

About Me

I have two great passions — family and creativity. Ever since I was small, I sought to make both the primary drivers of my adult life. While I have been successful in my efforts in a small way (babysitting on evenings and weekends and keeping a creative component to my professional work), I aim to redirect my professional career to make both of these passions my primary focus — helping parents create nurturing environments in the midst of busy schedules, while simultaneously enjoying the flexibility to achieve my own creative goals.

As the second of six children, I am accustomed to many different personalities and situations. Being flexible was always integral growing up, as was working as a team to make sure each individual had the chance to succeed in their pursuits. I have been able to use this experience of growing up in a large family—specifically the understanding and patience that it afforded, combined with my outgoing personality, in my experience with children. I aim to help create the same confident, caring, and opportunistic environment that I grew up in for all of the little lives that I influence. I enjoy using my artistic skills as an asset in childcare as well—painting, writing, drawing, and doing interactive arts and crafts.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on my artwork, writing, and other design projects!

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Writing my first novel, among many other things!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Painting, drawing, arts & crafts, reading, writing, baking, sports, outdoor activities, and more!