Emma V.

Education

New York University, B.A., Linguistics and Italian

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Andover, MA, 10/08 - 05/05
Boy, age 10-11; girl, age 6-7
Babysitter
Lynnfield, MA, 11/05 - 06/08
Girl, age 7-10; boy, age 2-5

Professional Experience

Assistant Director, Sailing Instructor
Wakefield, MA, Summers 2007 - 2012
Office Assistant
Winchester, MA, 12/09 - 01/13

About Me

For the past six summers I’ve worked as a sailing instructor and assistant director at a youth sailing program.  I taught children ages 8-16, but I found that my strongest suit was with the 8-10 year olds, so I concentrated my teaching there.  Not only did I teach sailing skills, but I also organized group activities off the water to provide a variety of fun games and interactions.

In addition to being a sailing instructor, I have also worked as a babysitter for several families with children and babies of all ages in my hometown of Lynnfield, Massachusetts.  My experience as a sailing instructor has overshadowed my babysitting experience a bit, but as the assistant director of the program I worked to ensure safety at all times and to interact with parents on the many different questions and issues that arose.  The balance between group activities and personalized care is a delicate one, and I have made several meaningful connections with children who required more one-on-one attention.  When a child goes home at the end of the day with a smile on, anxious to return the next day, I feel like I’ve succeeded with that child.

I come from a big family; I’m the oldest of four children and I have twenty cousins.  I grew up babysitting my younger siblings, and I’ve come to love the chaos of a large family and I miss it when I’m gone.  I am passionate about foreign languages, and I speak conversational Spanish and Italian.  Cooking and baking is another passion of mine; I have a cooking blog and I hope to continue to pursue my skills in cooking.  I also love the outdoors and I’m always looking for new ways to explore my own surroundings and learn about the city I live in.  I believe providing children with variety in some activities coupled with repetition and a schedule make for an interesting yet familiar experience every day.  I’m a big fan of basketball, particularly the Boston Celtics, and I love to watch sports.  It’s very important to me to be able to talk to and relate with the children I care for, and my love for basketball, as well as other interests, has helped me to connect with many children over the years.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school-aged children, Middle school-aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Looking for a job in the food service industry.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Fulfilling my long-term goal of attending culinary school and breaking into the food service industry. Being the oldest of four, I also envision myself eventually having a large family of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am conversational in Spanish and Italian, I play piano, and I enjoy cooking.