Danielle C.

Education

Brooklyn College, M.A., Secondary Education
John Jay, M.A., Forensic Mental Health Counseling
University at Buffalo, B.A., Biology

Childcare Experience

Summer Nanny / Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 07/09 - Present
Two girls, age 5-9 and 2-6
Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/12 - Present
Boy, age 3-4
Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/09 - 06/11
Two girls, age 9 months-2.5 years old, and 3-5

Professional Experience

Forensic Case Manager
Brooklyn, NY, 10/11 - Present
Assistant Varsity Volleyball Coach
New York, NY, 08/12 - 12/12
Teacher's Assistant
New York, NY, 8/10 - 5/11

About Me

I currently work as a forensic case manager while working towards a second Master’s degree in secondary education with a focus on biology. Since graduating college, I have been working with youthful offenders. My work as a forensic case manager has inspired me to work towards becoming a biology teacher so that I can have the ability to be a positive influence at an earlier point.

In addition to working with youth in my current job, I have also worked as a babysitter for over ten years for children of all ages and families of varying backgrounds. I have acted as an all-subjects tutor for several of my families. I am well organized, great with time management and multitasking, and a proficient cook. I was a Division I college athlete so a healthy, active, balanced lifestyle is something I value.

When working with children, I am devoted to encouraging development of the child’s intellect while providing a safe and energetic environment to thrive within. The children I work with provide me with the validation that being an educator will be the most rewarding career for me. Throughout my years of professional development I have found that my happiest memories are those which involve a youth I have worked with on developing a new skill and utilizing it in a way that is beneficial. One of my proudest moments was watching a volleyball team that I coached develop their skill sets to the point where they were able to defeat their biggest rival that they had lost to for the past seven years.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working towards my Master's in secondary education.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A full-time biology teacher in an NYC public school while coaching volleyball in my spare time.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Baking, cooking, exploring the outdoors, volleyball, soccer, and coloring.