Erika R.

Education

Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, Candidate for M.D.
New York University, B.A, Social and Cultural Analysis

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/12 - 06/12
Girl, age 6; boy, age 9
Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/12 - Present
Girl, age 6 months - 15 months
Weekend Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/12 - 06/12
Girl and boy, age 18 months-22 months; girl, age 4
Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/12 - Present
Girl, age 7 months - 16 months
Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 05/09 - 05/11
Girl and boy, age 2-4
Occasional Babysitter
Sudbury, MA, 06/04 - 08/07
Girl, age 8-11; boy, age 5-8; girl age 2-5

Professional Experience

Volunteer Coordinator
05/11 - 01/12, San Ignacio, Belize
Tutor
New York, NY, 08/08 - 05/11
Editor-in-Chief, Vice President
New York, NY, 08/08 - 05/11
Peer Educator
New York, NY, 08/08 - 05/11
Camp Counselor and Assistant Teacher
Lincoln, MA, 06/05 - 08/07

About Me

After graduating from NYU, I moved to Belize to work for a nonprofit public health organization. I worked there for eight months before returning to NYC, and my experiences there reinvigorated my desire to provide quality health care for people of all backgrounds. My father is a scientist and my mother is a yoga teacher and painter, so I was encouraged to find creative and intellectually stimulating ways to entertain myself growing up. I love nurturing each child’s imagination and creativity when I babysit, especially since it is such a nice break from memorizing facts from a textbook.

I started taking jazz piano lessons at age seven, a habit and passion that would continue for the next ten years. At age ten I moved to New Jersey, where I got involved in horseback riding and started practicing Tae Kwon Do, eventually earning my black belt when I turned fifteen. From the young age of thirteen, I started babysitting for neighborhood families, growing very close with their children as I watched them grow up over the years. In high school, I moved to a suburb of Boston, where I taught therapeutic riding lessons and volunteered as a camp counselor for children with disabilities. I also mentored middle school students who were struggling academically and socially. In my free time, I love creative writing, reading, and photography. I am naturally drawn to the joy and challenge of taking care of people, which is why I decided to be a doctor at a very young age. Today I am eagerly diving into the next chapter of my life!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending medical school at Columbia University.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in underserved communities as a physician and possibly working as a pediatrician.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Extensive tutoring experience, certified EMT