Julia C.

Education

American University, B.A, Political Science

Childcare Experience

Weekend Nanny
New York, NY, 09/10 - Present
Boy, age 6-8; girl, infant-2
Temporary Babysitter
Philadephia, PA, 10/09 - 06/10
Boys and girls, all ages
Occasional Babysitter
Washington, DC, 08/05 - 08/09
Boys and girls, all ages

Professional Experience

Digital Marketing and Publishing Assistant
New York, NY, 06/10 - Present

About Me

Following graduation, I signed up with a wonderful agency in the Philadelphia area and began working as a temporary nanny. This experience was invaluable. I learned to contribute in a wide array of capacities and grew to understand that it really does take a village. I developed a close relationship with Sophie the Giraffe, steamed and puréed vegetables of all shapes, colors, and sizes, and gained the ability to simultaneously cut a sandwich into fours, tell a knock-knock-joke, and balance a dozing 18-month-old on my hip. Most importantly, however, I learned to adapt quickly to the individual needs of each child I met while respecting the family’s parenting style.

For as long as I can remember, reading has been my favorite thing. Anne of Green Gables accompanied me on my first solo plane ride to Brazil, I reread Franny & Zooey every summer, and I think The Art of Fielding was the best thing to happen to 2011. I care deeply about literacy promotion and will gladly trade book recommendations with anyone who asks. This passion is what drove me to find my job and I’m lucky enough to spend my weeks at the particularly interesting cross between digital marketing and book publishing. In addition to books, I am a huge fan of running, traveling, and cooking. I think New York is incredible and I try to take advantage of as much as I can.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working at the particularly interesting cross between digital marketing and book publishing.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Doing more of what I'm doing now: working in children's publishing--(hopefully having uncovered the next Harry Potter), working with children, and cooking great food. I also hope to have tucked away a few new experiences: running a marathon, developing my technical skills at at work, and adding at least four new stamps to my passport.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak conversational Spanish and have a have a basic understanding of French. I am an active home cook and have experience as a reading tutor.