Alyssa N.

Education

Columbia University, M.A. Cultural Anthropology

University of Delaware, B.A. Anthropology H.B.A. Material Culture Preservation

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/12 - 11/13
Girl, age 8 months - 2.5 years

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/11 - 12/11
Three Girls, ages 4, 7, 10

Professional Experience

Columbia University Digital Centers Intern
New York, NY, 11/12 - 06/13

Farano Home Care-taker
Albany, NY, 06/11 - 8/11

Fusco Staffing Employee
Albany, NY, 09/10 - 05/11

Gymnastics Instructor
Newark, DE, 09/15/07 - 06/01/10

About Me

I recently graduated from Columbia University with a Master’s in Cultural Anthropology. While working towards my two year degree I began babysitting. I have truly enjoyed babysitting more than any other job I’ve held thus far. Babysitting keeps me creative and helps me remember what really matters in life: family and love. I’ve always enjoyed helping and watching children grow and learn. Throughout my undergraduate career, I worked as a gymnastics coach (I was a gymnast from age 2-18). I loved helping them set goals for themselves and watched with pride when they accomplished those goals.

Other than my experience, I am an extremely organized, patient, and caring individual. I love children and I pride myself in keeping kids intellectually stimulated and physically active. I love teaching through everyday experiences, helping kids excel, and learning from children and their interesting perspectives on the world. In my free time I enjoy running in Prospect Park, reading, going to museums, attending events in Central Park, and frequenting coffee shops to work on my thesis.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working towards publishing my Master's Thesis and studying either applied mathematics or computer science. (And perhaps preparing for state and federal government tests).

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in a career in either marketing or production or government which will allow me to use my ethnographic research skills and conduct qualitative and quantitative analysis.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Activities: Gymnastics, swimming, rock climbing, any sport really!

Skills: Reading, Any sort of art (drawing, painting, ceramics), drama, Spanish, and I also have a vast array of knowledge about art and culture that I love sharing, especially during museum trips!